Senate Meeting Minutes

Associated Students of Western New Mexico University

Student Senate Meeting Minutes

January 26, 2005

I.          Call to order

            Meeting was called to order at 8:37 p.m. by acting Vice President Frost.

II.         Opening ceremonies

            Acting V.P. Frost appointed Senator Bass as acting Floor Leader.

            Pledge of Allegiance was led by Senator Bass.

III.       Roll call

A.        Senate Present:  Pro Tempore Frost, Floor Leader Burdette,  Senate Secretary Medeguari, Senator Bass, Senator Kaaiakamanu, Senator Murillo, Senator Murray, Senator Rodriguez, Senator Vargas, and Senator Wilson.

            V.P. Rutherford was absent.

IV.       Sergeant at Arms Appointment

            V.P. Frost appointed Senator Wilson as Sergeant at Arms.

V.        Approval of Agenda of January 26, 2005

Senator Rodriguez moved to amend the agenda, omitting Line item VII. a-d and moving committee reports to Line item X.  Senator Vargas seconded.  Motion passed unanimously.

Senator Frost entertained a motion to approve the agenda as amended.  Senator Murray moved to approve the agenda for January 26, 2005.  Senator Vargas seconded.  Motion passed unanimously.

VI.       Approval of Minutes of

a. Senator Murray moved to approve the minutes for November 10, 2004.  Senator Bass seconded.  Motion passed 7 to 2.

b. Senator Vargas moved to approve the minutes for December 8, 2005.  Senator Bass seconded.  Motion passed 7 to 2.

VII.      Old Business

a. Senator Bass moved to approve Senate Bill 25, matching funds for SEP Club in the amount of $125.  Senator Murillo seconded.  Motion passed unanimously.

VIII.     New Business  

            a. Appointments

i. Senator Bass made a motion have a secret ballot vote for line items VIII a i-v.  Senator Murillo seconded.  Motion passed 6 to 1 to 2.

The Student Senate took a vote in form of secret ballot in the appointment of Travis Holt as Executive Secretary.  The final vote was 1 to 8, not approving Travis Holt as Executive Secretary.

ii. Senator Murillo moved to table the appointment of Mike Wog as Executive Treasurer.  Senator Vargas seconded.  Motion passed 8 to 1.

iii. Senator Rodriguez moved to approve Zach Wilson as Senator.  Senator Vargas seconded. 

The Student Senate voted in form of a secret ballot 9 to 0, approving Zach Wilson as Senator.

iv. Senator Murray moved to vote on Clyde Rachal as senator.  Senator Bass seconded. 

The Student Senate voted in form of secret ballot, approving Clyde Rachal as Senator, 7 to 2.

v. The Student Senate had a secret vote for Holly Renner’s appointment as Senator.  The approval for appointment failed 4 to 5.

X. Announcements

Senator Vargas attended the Honors Committee on January 18, 2005.  One of the issues discussed was the brochure changes as well as the process needed to be admitted to the honors program.

Senator Murillo stated that the Admissions/Academics Committee reviewed appeals for admission during the first week of this semester.

Senator Rodriguez attended the CNI Committee meeting where they discussed the possibility of adding math and writing tutoring labs.

Senator Wilson also attended the CNI meeting.  She reported that she felt she represented the students well when she expressed her concerns for having a lab added during the third week of classes.  She also reported that the committee is considering adding writing labs for the developmental writing classes. The change between computer literacy 160 to computer literacy 111 was also made in order to make transferring to other schools more accurate.  In addition, Senator Wilson discussed her trip to Santa Fe.

Senator Murray announced her resignation as Senator due to her busy schedule.  She wished the Student Senate luck this remainder of the semester.

Senator Kaaiakamanu also announced her resignation as Senator.  She mentioned that she learned a lot from senate.  She encouraged senators to not let others influence the decisions they would like to make.

Senate Secretary Medeguari thanked the audience for being present that night.  She also apologized for the lack of preparedness and organization on the senate’s behalf.  She also congratulated the new appointees and stated she looks forward to working with them.

President Fallstich swore in Clyde Rachal and Zach Wilson as Senators.

Senate Secretary Medeguari announced that there would be a Student Senate Caucus immediately following the Senate meeting.

XI. Adjournment

Senator Murray moved to adjourn the meeting at 9:07 pm.  Senator Kaaiakamanu seconded.  Motion passed unanimously.