Vascular Plants of the Gila Wilderness-- Lycophytes

Presented in Association with the
Western New Mexico University Department of Natural Sciences


The Lycophytes are part of what used to be called the "Fern Allies" in older nomenclature. The Lycophytes consist of the Lycopodiaceae, Selaginellaceae, and the Isoetaceae. Hundreds of millions of years ago, tree-sized Lycophytes dominated ancient forests. Now, only one genus, Selaginella, is found in the Gila National Forest.

Selaginellaceae (Spike Moss Family)

Back to the Index