Vascular Plants of the Gila Wilderness-- Monocots

Presented in Association with the
Western New Mexico University Department of Natural Sciences


Monocots are one of the classes of flowering plants, or angiosperms. Monocots have one initial leaf breaking the ground, parallel veins in the leaves and flower parts in threes. The grasses, sedges, lillies and orchids are typical monocots. The APG II has recently recommended splitting the Liliaceae into several smaller groups as shown below.

Agavaceae (Agave Family) Alliaceae (Onion Family) Amaryllidaceae (Amaryllis Family)
Anthericaceae (Anthericum Family) Asparagaceae (Asparagus Family) Commelinaceae (Spiderwort Family)
Convallariaceae (Lily of the Valley Family) Cyperaceae (Sedge Family) Hydrocharitaceae (Waterweed Family)
Iridaceae (Iris Family) Juncaceae (Rush Family) Lemnaceae (Duckweed Family)
Liliaceae (Lily Family) Melanthiaceae (Death Camas Family) Nolinaceae (Beargrass Family)
Orchidaceae (Orchid Family) Poaceae (Grass Family) Potamogetonaceae (Pondweed Family)
Sparganiaceae (Bur Reed Family) Themidaceae (Brodiaea Family) Typhaceae (Cattail Family)
Zannichelliaceae (Horned Pondweed Family)

Back to the Index